Crowley’s Ridge celebrates Awards Day

Sammi Henry (left) and David Ballard (right) are presented with the 2021 Pioneer Pride Awards by CRC Athletic Director Paul McFadden.

Earlier this week, Crowley’s Ridge College honored their student-athletes with an Awards Day. Pioneers from all six varsity sports were honored by their coaches.

Head coach Carissa Winn praised her volleyball team’s resilience in a COVID-19 affected season that saw a three-month schedule extend to nine months. Leaders in the major statistical categories were presented with a certificate noting the accomplishment with Emi Elms (FR/Paragould, Ark.) collecting the most kills, Kaitlin Perkins earning the most digs, and Kaitlyn Stebelton (SR/Crosby, Texas) with the most kills. Elms, Perkins, and Stebelton were joined by Olivia Deckelman (JR/Harrisburg, Ark.) as they received plaques marking their naming to the A.I.I. All-Conference team.

Chris Perkins followed by honoring men’s basketball’s All-Conference selections with K.J. Corder (JR/Hot Springs, Ark.), Montrell James (SR/Tyronza, Ark.), and Kyle Moore (SR/Cardwell, Mo.) being honored. David Ballard (SR/Brookland, Ark.) earned the 2021 NAIA Champion of Character award.

With a week of games left, baseball skipper Brenden Camp named Nate Finney (SR/Oran, Mo.) as the offensive player of the year. Noah Overshine (JR/Jonesboro, Ark.)’s work in the outfield earned him the defensive player of the year, while Corbett Seib (JR/Poplar Bluff, Mo.) was honored as the pitcher of the year. The honorary Pioneer Baseball Award, presented to Zach Duty (SR/Paragould, Ark.), goes to the player who exemplifies teamwork and discipline.

Women’s basketball was celebrated for their banner season. The team was presented with a basketball signed by each member of the team to be displayed in the trophy case honoring their first trip to the NAIA National Tournament. All-Conference selections Kianna Hardaway (FR/Jonesboro, Ark.), Octavia Lowery (SR/Gatewood, Mo.), Mickayla Smith (FR/Strawberry, Ark.), and Travia Woodruff (FR/Jonesboro, Ark.) were presented with plaques.

Coach Adam Meeker took a more personalized slant in his awards to his golf program. Joel Burrow (JR/Manila, Ark.) was awarded the Team Captain award, while Matthew Crabtree (FR/Bono, Ark.) was named the “Shiniest Crabapple.” Drew Garrett (SR/Huntsville, Ark.) was presented with the “Big Daddy Drew” award. Isaac Langley (SO/Piggott, Ark.) earned the “That’s a Golf Shot” certificate, and the “Best PGA2K Teammate” award was given to Andrew Lee (SO/Pottsville, Ark.).

With head coach Jordan Malone out of town on a recruiting trip, athletic director Paul McFadden honored the softball team with the promise of individual awards to be presented after the season.

The Pioneer Pride award, named after the late Pioneer baseball coach James Scott, is presented annually to the student-athletes who exemplify what it means to be a Crowley’s Ridge Pioneer. A good attitude, care for teammates, academic prowess, and other intangibles saw David Ballard and Sammi Henry (SR/Marmaduke, Ark.) honored with the Pioneer Pride awards.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.